844-WED-VOWS Wedding Officiants in Tennessee
How to obtain a Marriage License
Requirements for obtaining a marriage license in Tennessee:
Proof of Date of Birth (Government Issued Photo Identification or Certified Birth Certificate)
Proof of Social Security Number (for individuals that have been issued one.)
Both parties must appear together at the County Clerk's office and must have proof that they are 18 or older. If either party is under the age of 18, they must be accompanied by his/her parents. Tennessee law does not permit those under the age of 16 to marry without a court order.
The fee for a marriage license is $99.50. However, license applicants who have completed a premarital preparation course within a year prior to the date of application for the license are exempted from paying $60.00 of this fee. The couple must provide a Certificate of Completion form that has been completed and signed by the course provider. (Course provider’s signature on the Certificate of Completion must be notarized). See your Minister or Officiant for their process to have you obtain this Certificate.
The marriage license is valid for thirty (30) days from issuance and is good for ceremonies performed anywhere in Tennessee. The only marriage law information available from this office pertains to Tennessee only. We do not provide information on divorce or annulment.
Remember, you must have your Marriage License with you when you get married, and must present it to your Wedding Officiant. Your Wedding Officiant will return the Marriage License to the County of issue for you.
Thinking of having a friend get Ordained online and perform your ceremony?
Remember, Tennessee does not recognize online ordinations. Be sure your Officiant is properly licensed or Ordained and understands the important nuances of the wedding ceremony. Make sure the person you choose is experienced as an effective public speaker. Also, consider that your Officiant will be handling your important legal document, your marriage license. Make sure your Officiant is well versed and experienced in the proper procedures and policies for filing this important legal document.
You can find out more by looking up the Tennessee Code, Title 36 Section 3.
For couples who book with us here is the downloadable pre-marriage course. It takes about 4 hours to complete and once you email us the home work we will mail you a Certificate of Completion. That document will allow the County Clerk to discount your marriage license.
In your email include your mailing address and full legal names.